The Ultimate Summer Playlist

16 Jun

There’s nothing like a song to bring you back to your favorite summer memories and get you excited for the hot days ahead.

Whether roadtripping or just hanging out in the backyard, these are my favorite summer-inspired tunes.

Hard Sun by Eddie Vedder

“When she comes to greet me, she is mercy at my feet. I see her inner charm, she just throws it back at me.”

Tripping Billies by Dave Matthews

“We’re wearing nothing, nothing, but our shadows, shadows falling down on the beach sand.”

Toes by Zac Brown Band

I got my toes in the water, ass in the sand, not a worry in the world, a cold beer in my hand.Life is good today.”

Centerfield by John Fogerty

Just to hit the ball and touch ’em all – a moment in the sun; it’s gone and you can tell that one goodbye.”

Summertime by DJ Jazzy Jeff & the Fresh Prince

“As I think back, makes me wonder how the smell from a grill could spark up nostalgia.”

On the Road Again by Willie Nelson

“Seein’ things that I may never see again, and I can’t wait to get on the road again.”

Summer Wind by Frank Sinatra

“Like painted kites, those days and nights, went flying by.”

Mexican Cousin by Phish

“The conversations I forget, you’ll tell me about tomorrow.”

Get Out the Map by Indigo Girls

With every lesson learned a line upon your beautiful face. We’ll amuse ourselves one day with these memories we’ll trace.”

Thunder Road by Bruce Springsteen

“Hey what else can we do now? Except roll down the window and let the wind blow back your hair. Well the night’s busting open these two lanes will take us anywhere.”

Fruitcakes by Jimmy Buffett

“Half-baked cookies in the oven, half-baked people on the bus, there’s a little bit of fruitcake left in every one of us.”

4 Responses to “The Ultimate Summer Playlist”

  1. Carrie June 16, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    *Nodding head*
    I totally agree with Get Out the Map and Thunder Road (so much so that they were on my mental list as I started reading your intro). Also Seven Bridges Road by the Eagles. I just love that song so much.

  2. Scott Walmsley June 17, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Well done girl…

    The saddest sight my eyes can see is that big ball of orange sinking slyly down the trees

  3. Ali June 17, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    Great list!
    Since you have a Buffet song and a Zac Brown song I thought I’d see if you’ve heard of Knee Deep, which is Zac Brown featuring Jimmy Buffet! (unless you left off list on purpose!)

  4. Carly June 24, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    It’s a town full of losers. And I’m pulling out of here to win.

Leave a Reply

